

City of Milwaukee

Department Details

Department name: BOARD OF ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description:

PURPOSE: To provide an efficient system of conducting elections.

COMPOSITION: Three members appointed by the Mayor. Members shall serve four-year terms and shall be qualified electors of the City at the time of appointment. Two members shall be selected from a list submitted by the political party receiving the most votes for governor in the most recent gubernatorial election and one member from a list submitted by the political party receiving the next highest number of votes.

A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Section 7.20, Wis. Stats.

SALARY: \$115.38 biweekly

STAFFING: Claire Woodall, Executive Director, 286-3491

WEBSITE:BOARD OF ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

LAST UPDATED: November 28, 2023

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Douglas Haag Appointed By: Mayor Tom	Member Barrett	12/16/2021	12/16/2025	*
Patricia Ruiz-Cantu Appointed By: Mayor Tom	Member Barrett	11/18/2021	11/18/2025	*
Terrell Martin Appointed By: Mayor Tom	Chair Barrett	11/10/2021	11/10/2025	*